Activation Codes and Methods, Hardware Details, Sniffing
softice
Posts: 6
Joined: 15 Dec 2018, 19:37

Re: E3372h-320 (update 2020 version of E3372) automatically switches itself into ethernet mode

Post by softice » 31 May 2021, 13:55

Hi Josh,

Appreciate the effort. Yes, also no issues here with newer kernels, e.g. on a RPi with raspbian.
But my embedded device runs on 3.4.11, and for several reasons, I can't change the kernel :(


Hi ykl,

No, I did not find a fix despite having spent many hours on it. Will update in here if I find something. Please do the same.

Thanks.

murilopontes
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Jul 2014, 23:13
Location: Recife, PE, Brazil

Re: E3372h-320 (update 2020 version of E3372) automatically switches itself into ethernet mode

Post by murilopontes » 25 Jun 2021, 01:16

Hi, thanks for insights.
I can to put E3372h-320 in serial mode (/dev/ttyUSB0,1,2) on OpenWRT 21.02rc3

I put this on /etc/rc.local

Code: Select all

echo "12d1:1f01:s" > /sys/module/usb_storage/parameters/quirks
usbreset   12d1:1f01
usbreset   12d1:14db
And create a new /etc/usb-mode.json

Code: Select all

{
        "messages" : [
                "55534243123456780000000000000011063000000100010000000000000000",
        ],
        "devices" : {
                "12d1:1f01": {
                        "*": {
                                "t_vendor": 4817,
                                "t_product": [ 5471 ],
                                "msg": [ 0 ]
                        }
                }
        }
}
I reconnect E3372h-320 on usb port, and configure interface as proto-3g, fill apn, username and password and everything works as expected.
Double NAT never more!

LOM
Posts: 1397
Joined: 11 Jul 2012, 15:14
Location: Koh Samui, TH

Re: E3372h-320 (update 2020 version of E3372) automatically switches itself into ethernet mode

Post by LOM » 25 Jun 2021, 03:22

murilopontes wrote: 25 Jun 2021, 01:16 Hi, thanks for insights.
I can to put E3372h-320 in serial mode (/dev/ttyUSB0,1,2) on OpenWRT 21.02rc3
snip
murilopontes wrote: 25 Jun 2021, 01:16 Double NAT never more!
It is rare to get a public IP address from a mobile internet provider and that is equally true for a dialup connection.
Check what IP address you get, I think you are still NAT'ed.
You will never be able to get the full LTE CAT4 speed through the modem if you use it in ppp serial dialup mode.

div
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Nov 2021, 09:01

Re: E3372h-320 (update 2020 version of E3372) automatically switches itself into ethernet mode

Post by div » 29 Nov 2021, 06:23

I saw this thread only after I posted what sounds like a very similar problem: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3009

My E3372h-320 is always in ProdId=14db mode. It's frustrating! I removed (apt remove usb-modeswitch) to make sure that no unwanted switching can occur. I also have "options usb-storage quirks=12d1:1f01:s" in my /etc/modprobe.d/huawei-noprobe.conf. Yet all I see in dmesg is:

Code: Select all

[77109.136048] usb 2-9.1: USB disconnect, device number 8
[77109.136162] cdc_ether 2-9.1:1.0 enx001e101f0000: unregister 'cdc_ether' usb-0000:00:14.0-9.1, CDC Ethernet Device
[77109.375785] usb 2-9.1: new high-speed USB device number 9 using xhci_hcd
[77109.476935] usb 2-9.1: New USB device found, idVendor=12d1, idProduct=14db, bcdDevice= 1.02
[77109.476941] usb 2-9.1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[77109.476945] usb 2-9.1: Product: HUAWEI_MOBILE
[77109.476948] usb 2-9.1: Manufacturer: HUAWEI_MOBILE
[77109.557596] cdc_ether 2-9.1:1.0 eth2: register 'cdc_ether' at usb-0000:00:14.0-9.1, CDC Ethernet Device, 00:1e:10:1f:00:00
[77109.579889] cdc_ether 2-9.1:1.0 enx001e101f0000: renamed from eth2
I am not in front of the computer so I simulate unplug/plug via:

Code: Select all

uhubctl -a off -p 1 -l 2-9 && uhubctl -a on -p 1 -l 2-9
However, things are not different with a complete server reboot either.

Why is this modem always automatically going into 14db?

LOM
Posts: 1397
Joined: 11 Jul 2012, 15:14
Location: Koh Samui, TH

Re: E3372h-320 (update 2020 version of E3372) automatically switches itself into ethernet mode

Post by LOM » 29 Nov 2021, 07:25

div wrote: 29 Nov 2021, 06:23
Why is this modem always automatically going into 14db?
Most likely because its firmware is made to do that.. It might be intended to be used for Apple or Android.
I would let it install as an eth device, pull an IP from it and open a browser to the built-in web server (at the dongles gateway IP) and check if there is any setting for changing its behavior.

I also recommend reading this thread, viewtopic.php?t=1295 .
Read the whole thread first, then decide if you want to experiment!! :wink:

Post Reply